SECTION REPORTS

College and University Counseling Centers

This rather new section just finished its fourth year and is going strong. I want to extend thanks and appreciation to our past Chair, Sherry Benton, for her outstanding leadership. Our executive board has done an excellent job this year, and I want to thank Darryl Townes who has served as webmaster and treasurer, Jeanna Dressel who has been communications officer, and Ted Stachowiak who has served as past-chair. We also appreciate the work of Nicki Pritchett on the research committee, Jeff Harris on the practicum training committee, and Larry Marks who has headed the newsletter committee. Congratulations to new officers: chair-elect, Traci Callandrillo, and communications officer, Rachel Uffelman.

At APA this summer, Larry Marks and Rachel Uffelman co-chaired a symposium sponsored by the Section and entitled "Applications of Positive Psychology in University Counseling Centers." Our thanks to the presenters for an uplifting and thoughtprovoking presentation. The Section also had the opportunity to host a luncheon followed by roundtable discussion and business meeting. The annual Section awards were given to David Gilles-Thomas and Jennie Cassidy for the Counseling Center Psychologist Outstanding Contribution to Counseling Center Work awrd; D. Robert Davis for the Counseling Center Early Career Outstanding Contribution to Counseling Center Work award; and to Patricia Stankovitch for the Counseling Center Graduate Student/Intern Outstanding Contribution to Counseling Center Work award.

I was fortunate to attend a meeting at APA with our current Division 17 President, William Parham, who spoke of his vision for the division. His goals include (1) giving back to the community, (2) mentoring others, and (3) tapping into talent within the division. All of these goals involve creating community and fostering communication, and I believe that enhancing connections and communication are worthy goals for our section as well. Working in college and university counseling centers is challenging work, and these connections can certainly assist us with our professional duties as well as our personal self-care.

One of our awards winners, David Gilles-

Thomas, wrote the following comments as he was expressing his thanks for his award: "I learned very early on that you are never alone in this work. There are always colleagues to join with, work with, and create things that never would have been possible on one's own. Believe in possibilities, and things often turn out to be possible. Trust in the best of each other. And don't forget to play."

This is excellent advice and we welcome all new members, including student affiliates this upcoming year. I would like to call your attention to our web site at www.div17. org/scuce for more information, including membership information. Please consider renewing or joining for the first time. As we strive to develop professionally, this section provides listserv connections, research opportunities, and will be focusing on enhancing our web site this next year. Please feel free to contact me with comments or questions.

Karen Settle Southern Methodist University ksettle@smu.edu

Advancement of Women

The Section for the Advancement for Women was quite active at this year's conference. An annual highlight of the conference is the Champagne Breakfast and Awards Ceremony. This year was no exception, as many SAW members gathered in friendship and collegiality and to honor this year's award winners. Melba Vazquez was awarded Woman of the Year, while Anneliese Singh was named Student of the Year. The SAW Thesis/Dissertation Awards winners were also honored, with the 2006 awards going to LeLaina Romero from Teachers College (Marie Meville, Advisor) and Anneliese Singh from Georgia Tech (Barry Chung, advisor). Congratulations to all!

SAW had three student members present posters at the Division 17 Student Poster Session: Katharine J. Hahn, University of Kentucky, "Facing Trauma: Feminist Supervision as Best Practice with Trauma Counselors;" Colleen Clemency and Sharon E. Robinson Kurpius, Arizona State University, "Bodies on Display: Self-Objectification, Body Dissatisfaction and Disordered Eating Among Dance and Theatre Women;" and Tracy L. Smith and Enrique G. Covarrubias, Indiana State University, "Male Sexual Abuse Intervention: A Feminist Framework." Jill Barber and Anneliese Singh led two powerful SAW-programs in the Division 17 Suite. A workshop on "Intentional Dialogues: Successful Strategies for Having Conversations that Change Things" was followed by a conversation hour that encouraged people to put their new skills into action. As always, SAW members were actively engaged in the More Pie Initiative dialogues.

Treasurer Libby Nutt Williams chaired an APA symposium, "Understudied Aspects of Mentorship: Feminist and Multicultural Perspectives." Several SAW members presented papers as part of the symposium. Mentoring is an ongoing focus for SAW and plans are continuing for an extended program on mentoring sponsored by SAW to be held in conjunction with the next Division 17 National Conference, currently scheduled for 2008. Anybody interested in working on that should contact me.

Membership Chair Tania Israel reminds everyone that it is time to renew membership if you did not do so at the conference. Application/renewal forms are available at the back of the SAW newsletter. If you no longer have a copy or have not been a member in the past, contact Tania at tisrael@education. ucsb.edu.

Members are encouraged to watch the SAW listserv in the next few months for the announcement for the call for SAW Thesis/ Dissertation Award submissions.

Finally, SAW congratulates member Linda Forrest on her election as President-Elect of Division 17.

Connie Matthew Shippensburg University crmatthew@ship.edu